Richard McHugh – Bournemouth Digital Media Student

Open Source Software

Leave a comment

I have used a Linux based operating system called Ubuntu on my desktop PC, which is completely free and open source.
I had this as a dual boot system so that I could access Windows when I wanted or Ubuntu when I wanted. It is a very easy to use operating system which is very quick, I found it very similar to Apple’s operating system in the way of visuals and usability.
It has all the programs you need from editing software, word processing, databases, video playback and many more programs and applications.

ubuntu-13.04-dash-overlay-icons

Overall I found Ubuntu to be an extremely good alternative to the more popular Apple and Microsoft operating systems, businesses could save a lot of money on licensing costs of operating systems by choosing to use Ubuntu.

The only reason I chose to uninstall Ubuntu was because I personally prefer using Windows 7 and I didn’t have a lot of hard drive space on my computer.

Other programs I use now which are open source;

  • VLC, which is a multimedia player which plays almost all video and audio files possible, this is very useful as some operating systems standard media player can only play certain file types. But this can be installed on any operating system.
  • OpenOffice which is very similar to Microsoft Office but is completely free.
  • Inkscape, this is similar to Adobe Illustrator. It doesn’t have nearly as many features as Illustrator but is a very good free alternative.
  • Brackets is a HTML text editor.
Leave a Reply

