Richard McHugh – Bournemouth Digital Media Student

Making a Contribution To a Community Based UGC Platform

Leave a comment

This was the first time editing and adding information to a Wiki page.

WikiBooks

I visited Wikibooks to see the recipe to create the perfect cup of tea. I always buy Yorkshire tea bags so I wanted to add preferably Yorkshire tea bags in the ingredients.

tea edit tea edit 2

I was very surprised at how easy it was, you don’t even need to create an account and log in to make a change. Once you make the change and save it the webpage will instantly update and display the changes.

Openstreetmap

There is an Open Source map website called openstreetmap, I wanted to see if my Mum and Dads seafood business was located on the map and if not I wanted to add a pinpoint showing where it is.

It wasn’t located so I went through the process in adding the pinpoint. With this wiki platform you have to log in to make edits. But to add to the map is very simple, all you do is click edit then point and click where you want to add the pinpoint, add a few details and select the area and thats it. My Mum and Dads Business is now located on openstreetmap.orgopenstreetmap

Leave a Reply

